Unleash Your Potential


What is the biggest myth that individuals who are afraid of public speaking labor under? I’ll cut to the chase — it is the myth that what they need is outside themselves. Examples of such “outside” elements are: more time to prepare, more knowledge, greater delivery skills, a better looking face, a better suit, a more supportive audience, etc. The truth is, the most fundamentally important resource you need to excel in public speaking is inside you. It can be summarized in one word — CONFIDENCE. Self-confidence is the key that unlocks your ability to access your inner reserves; to access the knowledge that you already have; to focus on the message and the audience instead of yourself.

The vantage point of sixteen years of speech coaching has shown me that most nervous speakers think that a speech coach will teach them techniques to speak more effectively. Before spending time on the fine points of techniques, the wise speech coach first helps the speaker work on the inside elements: self-esteem and self-worth that lead to self-confidence and then to develop the winning philosophy that the job of the speaker is to give value to the audience, not to impress them.

How does a very nervous speaker learn to overcome presentation jitters? Find out at http://www.drdilip.com/articles/jitters.pdf

Stay tuned to find out more in the next blog of Unleash Your Potential!

Explore posts in the same categories: Communication, Confidence

6 Comments on “Unleash Your Potential”


  1. Thank you Dr. Dilip for your wise words. I have been speaking a long time – and still I find myself lacking inner confidence. Your words inspire me not to neglect my inner voice in exchange for finding external things that will make me better.

  2. Steve Blair Says:

    I totally agree that the imagination is the most powerful part of our beings. What “real” power to we possess? I don’t think I have any as a “human doing.” When I dream a dream and imagine all of the possibilities, there is nothing I can’t have, do or be. Thank you for the inspiration…we are on the same page.
    Steve Blair
    Harrisburg, PA

  3. Ranee S. Wickramasekera Says:

    Dear Dilip,

    Thank you for your wise words.
    Absolutely ! It is the INSIDE that should speak out – the INNER-SELF. Whenever I reach out to the audience, particularly offering a thought of the day, it is something that I feel inside of me that comes out.
    Yes, I do agree that “inspiration” is what is needed much more than “motivation”!
    As you so aptly said some years ago: “Love makes the connection!”
    Ranee

    • drdilip Says:

      Hi Ranee,
      Thank you for your affirmation. You are one who has a rich inner life, so you would immediately understand the concepts I write about. Take a look at my other blog postings. the most current one is about giving a winning contest speech.
      All the best!


Leave a Reply

